CPLF Art & Literary Series speaker, author Tatjana Soli,
wins U.K.’s oldest book award!

Debut U.S. novelist wins U.K.’s oldest book prize

CBC News 
Posted: Aug 22, 2011 2:35 PM ET 

U.S. writer Tatjana Soli won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for her debut novel The Lotus Eaters. (tatjanasoli.com)

Debut U.S. novelist Tatjana Soli has been announced as the latest winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction, Britain’s oldest literary award.

California-based Soli won for The Lotus Eaters, a novel about a female photojournalist set against the final days of the Vietnam War. Soli previously published a collection of short stories.

The prize was established in 1919 by Janet Coats, the widow of publisher James Tait Black, to commemorate her husband’s love of books. It goes to one novel and one biography, with each winner receiving a £10,000 ($16,288 Cdn) cash award.

The prize for biography went to Britain’s Hilary Spurling for Burying the Bones: Pearl Buck in China, an examination of the Nobel Prize-winning author of The Good Earth.

Spurling, a veteran biographer, won the Whitbread Prize for her 2005 book Matisse the Master: A Life of Henri Matisse, The Conquest of Colour 1909-1954.

Previous winners of the James Tait Black fiction prize — awarded annually by the University of Edinburgh — include Ian McEwan, Cormac McCarthy and A.S. Byatt.

Carmel Public Library Foundation footnotes:
Solie spoke about her book, The Lotus Eaters, on September 7, 2010 for CPLF’s Art & Literary Series.
Featured in the New York Times, December 5, 2010.

100 Notable Books in 2010: The Book Review’s annual list of outstanding works.
ALA 2011 Notable Book.
LA Times Book Award Finalist.

Make A Contribution
Harrison Memorial Library
Upcoming Events